life

Thoughts that Trigger Pain

This morning, I noticed a few mistakes and (emotional) pain from the past creeping in to my thinking.

Here’s what I did and what I try to do when that happens:

  1. Pause
  2. Take notice of it (i.e., observe the thought) and write it down
  3. Ask myself if there’s something I need to complete from the past (perhaps with another human being)
  4. Reinforce to myself that there are no problems in the here and now (in the present moment)
  5. SMILE REALLY BIG, forgiving myself and others for whatever pain was caused

After all, we are all in this life thing together, figuring things out along the way.

Live free,

David

Standard

Leave a Reply

